Departmental accreditation

BSE departmental accreditation is a recognised benchmark of quality and demonstrates that an echo department meets realistic quality standards. Accreditation is suitable for all echo departments, not just those that are large or highly specialised.

What is departmental accreditation?

Departmental accreditation now covers five areas:

  • transthoracic echo (TTE)
  • transoesophageal echo (TOE)
  • stress echo
  • training
  • emergency echo (developed with the Intensive Care Society)

Since all departments that are of sufficient quality for accreditation will be actively involved in training, both the TTE and training accreditations are prerequisites for the other accreditations.

Departmental accreditation incorporates the BSE Echo Quality Framework (EQF). Although EQF and departmental accreditation are separate, accredited departments are expected to participate in EQF and achieve a minimum of amber in all areas.


There is a fixed fee of £500 whether you apply for one or more areas of accreditation. This fee is payable at both five and ten year accreditation.


Please complete the eligibility check to start the departmental accreditation process. This doesn't commit you to applying for departmental accreditation and you won't need to pay anything at this stage.

Eligibility check