Echocardiography achievements honoured at BSEcho 2022

Published 02/11/2022

We were delighted to honour multiple achievements in the field of echocardiography during BSEcho 2022 and at our Annual General Meeting on Saturday 15 October 2022.

Dr Claire Colebourn, President of the British Society of Echocardiography (BSE), presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Professor Roxy Senior, Consultant Cardiologist and Director of Echocardiography at Royal Brompton and Northwick Park Hospitals and Director of Cardiac Research for London North West Healthcare NHS Trust, in recognition of his service and contribution to the advancement of echocardiography.

Dr Colebourn said "It’s my particular honour to present a Lifetime Achievement Award to one of the very few people in our profession that can be introduced with just his first name. I could spend a very long time listing Professor Roxy Senior’s achievements, including his prolific 400 publication output and 400 invited lectures; his dual departmental leadership; his relentless training of future clinical echo leads; working and writing for the BSE and leading stress echo off the bench and into clinical practice, but I won’t do that. I will just tell you how influential Professor Senior has been on so many echo lives. It is my pleasure to present this award in humble appreciation of the deep impact he has had."

Professor Senior said "I feel very honoured and very humbled to be awarded this Lifetime Achievement Award from the British Society of Echocardiography. I feel particularly honoured because this has been awarded to me in a country where I live, and it’s like being awarded by a parent - I will revere this the most among all the other awards I have had."

Honorary Fellowship was awarded to Professor Otto Smiseth, Professor and Immediate Past Head, Division of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Diseases at Oslo University Hospital, in recognition of his BSEcho 2022 International Lecture and for his contributions to the field of echocardiography.

Fellowship was awarded to Ms Sadie Bennett and Mr Arionilson Gomes for their contributions to echocardiography. As the Chair of the Accreditation Committee, Sadie leads a large and multidisciplinary team of cardiac physiologists/scientists and consultants to ensure the accreditation committee and its different specialities function as a whole and to the expectations of the BSE’s membership. She has written several articles which have been published in peer reviewed journals, was actively involved in the development of the BSE triage posters, and has spoken at several conferences. Ari is a BSE assessor who is accredited in both TTE and TOE. He has been involved in many clinical trials for implantable cardiac devices and structural intervention devices, has mentored many trainees through to accreditation and is dedicated to education and development. He is often invited to teach at Brighton Medical school and was proud to present at BSEcho 2021. In addition to all these roles, since 2015 Ari has also been the chair of the Sussex Heart Charity which supports various initiatives aimed at improving the standards for cardiac patients in Sussex.

Dr James Willis, Senior Clinical Scientist at Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust, was awarded Investigator of the Year 2022 for his abstract entitled The right assessment: Utilising novel atrial markers to support pulmonary hypertension investigation.